ICD Fellows

The ICD Fellowship Award is the highest distinction for Directors in Canada and is presented annually to individuals who demonstrate a commitment to good governance and excellence in directorship.


Donald J. Lowry
Chair, Capital Power Corporation
Director, Stantec Inc., Melcor REIT, Alectra Utilities, RS Technologies

Following a 20-year career in telecom, concluding as President and COO of TELUS Communications, Don Lowry became President and CEO of EPCOR Utilities. Under his 16 years of leadership, EPCOR became one of Canada’s leading integrated power companies and one of the largest private water companies in the U.S. South West.
Mr. Lowry’s career as a director and board advisor spans more than 30 years. He was Chair of Canadian Oil Sands and a Director of Hydrogenics. He currently serves as Chair of Capital Power; Lead Director, Melcor REIT and RS Technologies; and Director, Stantec and Alectra Utilities.
Mr. Lowry graduated from the University of Manitoba with a BCom (Hons) and an MBA. He is a graduate of the Harvard Advanced Management Program and the Banff School of Management. Mr. Lowry earned his ICD.D designation after completing the ICD-Rotman Directors Education Program (DEP).

David McAusland
Ad. E.
Chair, ATS Automation Tooling Systems Inc., IPL Plastics Inc., Montrusco Bolton Investments Inc., Ovivo Inc
Director, Cogeco Inc. and Cogeco Cable Inc.

David McAusland has had a distinguished career as a lawyer, senior executive, business advisor and corporate director with broad international experience.
Mr. McAusland is currently Chair, ATS Automation Tooling Systems Inc. and IPL Plastics Inc. and Director, Cogeco Inc. and Cogeco Communications Inc., all of which are publicly traded corporations. He is also Chair of the privately held corporations Ovivo Inc. and Montrusco Bolton Investments Inc. In addition, he is counsel at McCarthy Tétrault. 
Throughout his career, Mr. McAusland has consistently maintained strong involvement in a variety of community, non-for-profit, and institutional causes and entities. In 2002, he was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Medal in recognition of his service to the community.
Mr. McAusland is a graduate of McGill University (B.C.L., LL.B) and a member of the Quebec Bar. In 2015, he was conferred the title Advocatus Emeritus (Ad.E.) by the Quebec Bar.

Hon. Frank McKenna
P.C., O.C., ONB., Q.C.
Chair, Brookfield Asset Management
Deputy Chair, Wholesale, TD Bank Group
Director, Canadian Natural Resources Limited

Frank McKenna was elected Premier of New Brunswick in 1987 in a historic victory that left him with every seat in the legislative assembly.

After leaving public life, he was in widespread demand as a corporate director and acted as counsel to two national law firms. He is currently Chair, Brookfield Asset Management; Deputy Chair, TD Bank Group; and Director, Canadian Natural Resources Ltd.

In 2005, he accepted an invitation from then Prime Minister Martin to become Canadian Ambassador to the United States.

His charitable work, particularly in Haiti, was rewarded with the Red Cross Humanitarian of the Year award. In addition, he is the recipient of 15 Honorary Degrees.

He is a graduate of St. Francis Xavier University, Queen’s University and the University of New Brunswick Law School. He was awarded a prestigious Lord Beaverbrook Scholarship in Law and has practiced in all courtrooms, including the Supreme Court of Canada.

Sarah Raiss
Director, Loblaw Companies Limited, Ritchie Bros., Commercial Metals Company

Sarah Raiss serves on the boards of Loblaw Companies Ltd. (Chair of Pension, member of Governance), Ritchie Bros. (Chair of Compensation), and Commercial Metals (Chair of Nominations/Governance and member Audit).  She has served on 26 boards including Chair of AESO, Vermilion Energy, Canadian Oil Sands, Shoppers Drug Mart and Business Development Bank of Canada. Additionally, Ms. Raiss was President of the Calgary Petroleum Club in 2012.

Ms. Raiss has been actively involved in the ICD since 2005, including as Chair of the Calgary ICD Chapter, Director on the National ICD Board and member of the Advisory Committee. She was Executive Vice President of Corporate Services for TC Energy until 2011 and Co-Chaired the 2004 United Way Calgary campaign. In 2015, Ms. Raiss was named a D100 by the National Association of Corporate Directors as one of the 50 most influential corporate directors in governance.